Theatre BC’s Summer News Update


The hard working Mainstage 2016 Host Committee, left to right: Graham Archer, Deb Archer, Patti Lawn & Dave Williams (co-chairs), Raymond Hatton, Jennifer Meloche, Mary Renvall & Roger Meloche.


Greetings fellow TBC members!

It’s my pleasure to send this update as your new President. Thank you for your support and confidence in choosing me. We have an excellent team in place to keep the Theatre BC wheels in motion.

A hearty congratulations and thank you to the Mainstage 2016 committee in Chilliwack. The Fraser Valley Zone hosted our big annual event in a way that can only be described as electrifying and re-energizing. Committee co-chairs Patti Lawn and Dave Williams assembled a dynamic team that worked very hard in a short time frame to successfully host “a Festival on steroids,” as FVZ chair Raymond Hatton describes it. To all of the committee members, volunteers, staff at the venues and everyone who helped to make Mainstage 2016 a success, Thank You! It was an amazing week, and you’ve set the bar high indeed.

Michael Armstrong

To all the participants and winners, congratulations. The “teachable moments” that adjudicator Michael Armstrong shared with us each morning at the coffee critiques were invaluable to those of us eager to learn new tips and techniques to take back to our clubs. The workshops, play readings, green rooms and other activities were very popular, as were the Chilliwack Cultural Centre and the Chilliwack Players Guild’s Guildhall as venues. The host committee will meet soon to debrief, and will share their feedback to help next year’s committee.

Complete awards list and honourable mentions/special certificates lists can be found on the Theatre BC website’s home page.

Theatre BC’s Annual General Meeting was held on Saturday, July 9, with the following election results:

  • President (1 year term) – Peter Wienold, Port Alberni
  • Vice Presidents (2 year terms) – Jacqollyne Keath, Langley; and Adele Kuyek, Vernon
  • Treasurer (2 year term) – Richard Kerton, Courtenay/Vernon
  • Recording Secretary (1 year term) – Michael Armstrong, Nanaimo
  • Wes Eccleston continues serving as Vice President for another year.

We thank Glen Miller for presiding over TBC as President for the past 5 years, and we thank outgoing Vice Presidents Marianne Brorup-Weston and Penny Bayne for their service.

The new executive will hit the ground running, meeting monthly throughout the year via on-line video conferencing, while the full board will meet quarterly in the same way.

Some of my personal goals as President include: improved and more frequent communication with the membership; ensure that we have high-quality and modern membership tracking and communication tools; a review of all projects and priorities, and much more. Also on the agenda, a rejuvenation of the zones which have not recently held festivals, to support their operations and sustainability. Our work may require the help of TBC members at large, if you are willing to answer the call – we thank you in advance.


Anne Marsh, Robb Mowbray, Peter Wienold.

Our scholarship and awards committee reviewed a number of applications for the Hamber and Diamond awards, and I’m pleased to report that the recipient of the Eric Hamber Award this year was Robb Mowbray. For those who don’t know Robb, he has been a fixture on the Theatre BC scene for many decades, serving at different times as our President (1992 – 1994) and our Executive Director. Presenting the award to Robb was Anne Marsh, herself a TBC President (1979 – 1982), and Hamber Award honouree (1985, with husband Don Marsh). Much to Anne’s surprise, she was also the recipient of this year’s Diamond Award. Congratulations Robb and Anne on your well-deserved recognition, and thank you for all you’ve done in your home clubs and for Theatre BC.

Congratulations to Ries Fowler, recipient of the $1,000 Sid Williams scholarship. The Jessie Richardson and Mien Van Heek scholarships were not awarded this year. TBC Members who are qualified candidates are encouraged to fill out the relevant application forms before deadline for the available scholarships.

VernonPACMoving forward, please make a note of our Mainstage 2017 dates in Vernon – June 30 to July 8, with the actual start date and final performance schedule subject to the status of zone festivals next year. 2017 is Canada’s 150th birthday, and Theatre BC announced to members in October 2015 that Mainstage next year would be exclusively Canadian-written plays. The local host committee is already organizing, and has chosen the tagline of “Theatre BC Celebrates Canada On Stage” for promotions.

Some additional news . . .

  • Playwriting Competition – the board has decided to shift from a provincial to a national intake of writers. This restores the competition to its original scope, and will attract a much larger pool of entrants. Updated entry information will be available soon – the entry deadline, as usual, is December 31.
  • Thank you, Doug Huggins – Doug (TBC President, 1968 – 1970) has generously donated two boxes of scripts to the TBC Script Library. These will be catalogued and entered into the online database for your perusal.
  • Theatre BC has a podcast! Yours truly is the host of “In The Theatre”, and we recorded a number of episodes at Mainstage 2016. You can find the show online, right here on this website! Have a listen in your browser, or subscribe in your favourite podcast app. If you’re a TBC member club that would like to be featured on the show, please send me a note.

TBC BLUE LOGOAnd that’s it, for now. I’m looking forward to moving TBC forward into the future with an outstanding team of executive and board members, and the membership at large.

Wishing you all the best for a happy and safe summer,

Peter Wienold, President
BC Drama Association (Theatre BC)

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.